Tell me more about the pizza principal?

For more than 40 years, New Yorkers have observed that the price of a slice of pizza tracks with the price of a subway ride, a correlation that has become colloquially known as the Pizza Principle. New Yorkers observe this believing it to address some fundamental economic principle.