Who said revenge is a dish best served cold?

It was famously attributed as a Klingon Proverb by Kahn in Star Trek, the Wrath of Kahn. However, Kahn should have already been familiar with some form of the proverb from earth, because variations of this human proverb have been common in many languages for hundreds of years.