What is the origin of the word spatchcock?

Spatchcock that chicken! ... This wacky term comes from Ireland, and may be an abbreviation of “Dispatch the cock,” a phrase which the Irish apparently threw around in the 18th century when they needed to whip up a quick and simple chicken dinner.