How big was goliath?

Goliath's stature as described in various ancient manuscripts varies: the oldest manuscripts, the Dead Sea Scrolls text of Samuel, the 1st-century historian Josephus, and the 4th-century Septuagint manuscripts, all give his height as "four cubits and a span" (6 feet 9 inches or 2.06 metres),

---

In 1 Samuel 17:4 Goliath's height is given as six cubits and a span. That is approximately 9 feet, five inches, or 2.9 meters.