Do you have to be a u. s. citizen to serve in the military?

The USA dot gov web site indicates you do not have to be a U.S. citizen to enlist in the military, but you may have fewer options. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must: Have a permanent resident (green) card, currently live in the U.S and speak, read, and write English fluently.