Why do cats and dogs don't like each other?

Cats and dogs have an innate dislike of one another, meaning the two will naturally fight until they draw blood or one retreats, tail between its legs. But their mutual hatred must go deeper than a simple predatory instinct, as both animals are carnivorous.