Why did burt reynolds leave gunsmoke?

Arness told him that he was destined for movie stardom. Burt Reynolds Was Reluctant To Leave Gunsmoke, Reynolds enjoyed his time on Gunsmoke, so much that it was difficult to leave, but in 1965 after three years appearing on the program he received an offer he could not refuse