How do you beat butter?

To cream (beat) butter, soften it first by leaving it out at room temperature or microwaving it for 10 seconds. Then, put the softened butter in a large bowl and gradually mix in sugar. Once you've added all the sugar, quickly mix the butter until it's thick and creamy.