Where was the river run stewart filmed?

The movie, A river runs through it, is set in Missoula, Montana, though it was filmed 200-plus miles east of Missoula in Livingston, Montana. Livingston served as Missoula, & the Gallatin River served as the Big Blackfoot River. The fly-fishing industry doubled in size after it was released.