What is four of a kind in poker?

Four of a kind, also known as quads, is a hand that contains four cards of one rank and one card of another rank (the kicker), such as all four nines and a jack. It ranks below a straight flush and above a full house.

---

The term "four of a kind" means four cards that have the same value, like four queens or four eights.