What are the five basic methods of angling?

The five basic methods of angling are bait fishing, fly-fishing, bait casting, spinning, and trolling. All are used in both freshwater and saltwater angling. Bait fishing, also called still fishing or bottom fishing, is certainly the oldest and most universally used method.