How can you tell if chicken is cooked without a thermometer?

When cooking a whole chicken (or turkey), when the meat pulls away from the leg it's done. Be aware that it's easy to overcook it this way. Chicken or turkey breast cannot be tested without cutting the flesh and checking the juices.