What temperature does bacteria die at?

Temperatures at which bacteria are killed varies according to the microbe. For example, salmonella is killed by heating it to 131 F for one hour, 140 degrees for a half-hour, or heating it to 167 F for 10 minutes. When it comes to killing microorganisms, both heat level and time affect the equation.