Why is it called a hotdog?

References to "hot dogs" can be traced back to German immigrants during the 1800s. Germans not only brought Frankfurter sausages with them to America, but also dachshund dogs. "Hot dog" probably began as a joke comparing the small, thin dogs to the small, thin sausages.