What's the difference between a nutritionist and a dietitian?

The biggest difference between a nutritionist and a dietitian lies in the legal restrictions that each title carries. Only nutritionists that become registered with Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) may legally declare themselves as dietitians or more precisely, registered dietitians (RDs).