Which president was the first to own a car?

William Howard Taft was the first president to use an automobile in an official capacity. Woodrow Wilson was the first president to own a private automobile - a 1919 Pierce Arrow Series 51 limousine that was originally government-owned but purchased for him by friends as a gift when he left office.