What is a rainbowcorn?

Rainbow corn, also known as Glass Gem corn, is a variety of rainbow-colored corn that became popular in 2012 after a picture was posted on Facebook. It started with Carl Barnes, an Oklahoma farmer who started crossing Native American tribal corn varieties to connect to his Cherokee heritage.