What is a pug in the army?

According to the Military & Government Acronym Finder, the top 3 of 19 definitions for PUG are: 1) Peugeot, manufacturer of arms and military vehicles + more 2) Presses Universitaires de Grenoble (French: Grenoble University Press; publishing house; est. 1972) & 3) Petroleum User Group.