How did barbara gordon get paralyzed?

In 1966, Barbara Gordon, the daughter of Gotham's police commissioner, began fighting crime in DC Comics' "Batgirl." Then, in the 1988 graphic novel The Killing Joke, she was shot by The Joker, paralyzing her from the waist down.