How do you tell if something is gold?

*Initial stamps. Gold plated jewelry is often stamped with initials that reveal its metal composition. *Magnetism. Gold is not magnetic. *Take a piece of unglazed porcelain and rub the gold item against it. If it leaves a black streak, the material is not gold.