What does the letter b. stand for in b. m. w.?

The B= Bayerische (B A Y E R I S C H E) in Bayerische Motoren Werke AG. which is a German multinational corporation that produces luxury vehicles and motorcycles. The company was founded in 1916 as a manufacturer of aircraft engines. Per Wikipedia.

---

The acronym BMW stands for Bayerische Motoren Werke- which roughly translates to the Bavarian Engine Works Company.