How much water do you add to a cup of rice?

1 and one half to 1 three quarter cups of water to 1 cup of uncooked rice.

---

For uncooked brown rice use a 2 to 1 ratio of water to rice. So, for 1 cup of rice use 2 cups of water. Bring rice to a boil, reduce heat, simmer rice for about 45 minutes in a covered pot.