What was the first sauce ever made?

Possibly the oldest recorded sauce in Europe is garum, the fish sauce used by the Ancient Romans. Also doubanjiang, the Chinese soy bean paste, is mentioned in Rites of Zhou in the 3rd century BC. No one knows for certain which one was the first sauce.