What is kava kava tea?

Kava is a beverage or extract that is made from Piper methysticum, a plant native to the western Pacific islands. The name kava is from Tongan and Marquesan, meaning 'bitter'. Serious illness, including liver damage, has occurred even with short-term use of normal doses.