How do you know when noodles are done?

It depends on how you like them, but typically they are done when you bite into one and it is chewy without being either hard or soft. Al dente is there preferred doneness and means "to the teeth" which refers to the pasta being just soft enough to bite it.

---

The best method to test for doneness in pasta is to bite into a noodle. The noodle should be cooked all the way through, but should still be slightly chewy. This is called Al dente.