How do you know when a pomelo is ripe?

The best way to tell if a pomelo is ripe is based on the appearance of its skin. Avoid those with brown or mushy spots, as those are over ripe. Choose one that is shiny and feels heavy for its size. If two of identical size, choose the one that weighs more; it will be juicier.