How does a black light work?

What you see glowing under a black light, whether on a fluorescent poster or an invisible hand stamp, are phosphors. A phosphor is any substance that emits visible light in response to some sort of radiation. A phosphor converts the energy in the UV radiation from a black light into visible light.