Who is s. a. n. s. the skeleton?

Sans is the brother of Papyrus and a major character in Undertale. He first appears in snowdin forest after the player (Frisk) exits the ruins. He serves as a supporting character in a Neutral and True Pacifist Route and as the final boss and heroic antagonist in a Genocide Route.