Why do they call it a french braid?

The phrase "French braid" first appeared in an 1871 issue of Arthur's Home Magazine, used in a piece of short fiction ("Our New Congressman" by March Westland) that describes it as a new hairstyle ("do up your hair in that new French braid"). People liked the name and the hairstyle.