What year did the twin towers in new york city?

Construction of the Twin Towers began in 1968. The topping out ceremony for the North tower was in 1970 and the South Tower ceremony was in 1971. The dedication of the towers was on April 4, 1973. Thousands were killed and the towers destroyed in the terror attack on September 11. 2001.