What's the difference between a buffalo and a water buffalo?

Water buffaloes: have smaller heads and shoulders, are more symmetrical in appearance: Most are domesticated. Bison, or Buffalo: most are unpredictable and dangerous: have a large shoulder hump of pure muscle and a massive head that makes their hindquarters look smaller than their fronts.