Why is uranus tipped on its side?

Scientists think the tilt of Uranus’s axis may have been caused by the impact of a large object during or soon after the planet’s formation. Astronomers think that a particularly large planetesimal may have struck Uranus late in its formation, causing it to tip sideways.