What temperature does grass stop growing at?

Although grass does not stop growing in winter, it grows so slowly when temperatures go below 40 degrees Fahrenheit that mowing your lawn between November and March isn't necessary (scroll down to see the step you must follow if you need to mow your lawn during winter).