Do ostriches bury their head in the sand?

Ostriches don't bury their head in the sand. However, they do dig holes in the sand for nests. They stick their heads in the hole several times a day to turn the eggs. That makes it look like they are burying their head in the sand.

---

Ostriches don't bury their heads in the sand, they wouldn't be able to breathe! But they do dig holes as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, an ostrich puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it Only looks like they are burying their heads in the sand!

---

No, an ostrich does not bury its head in the sand! When it senses danger and cannot run away, it drops to the ground and remains still, with its head and neck on the ground in front of it.