How hot is simmer?

Simmer happens just before the boil, so lower than boiling temperature. Water starts to simmer at 195 degrees Fahrenheit or 95 Celsius

---

To simmer refers to a temperature just below the boiling point of the liquid. In cooking, this typically equates to 200 to 210 degrees Fahrenheit when only small bubbles are visible on the surface of the food.