What's the most it's ever rained?

In just 60 seconds, 1.23 inches of rain fell in Unionville, Md. on July 4, 1956. If that rainfall rate had continued for an entire hour - it did not - the total would have been 73.80 inches! Not only is this a record for the United States one-minute rainfall total, it's also the world record.