What is the human appendix?

According to Web M D the appendix sits in the lower right abdomen. The function of the appendix is unknown. One theory is the appendix acts as a storehouse for good bacteria rebooting the digestive system after diarrheal illnesses. Others believe it is a useless remnant from our evolutionary past.