What is a cockle shell?

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, a cockle shell is the shell or one of the shell valves of a cockle. It can also be another type of shell, (such as a scallop shell) suggesting a cockleshell. A different, second definition is that of a light flimsy boat.