How long does it take for a pumpkin to rot?

A pumpkin in good physical condition can often last two to three months after being picked before rotting. Once the skin is pierced (or if carved to make a jack-o-lantern), most will rot in less than a week. Keeping pumpkins in a cool, dry place will help them last longer.