What does vinegar do to plants?

Due to vinegar's burning effects, using vinegar in the garden has been touted as a cure all for a number of garden afflictions, most notably weed control. The acetic acid of vinegar dissolves the cell membranes resulting in desiccation of tissues and death of the plant.