How far can dogs sniff?

With an ability to smell between 10,000 to 100,000 times better than people, dogs can detect odors in parts per trillion. This allows them to smell things buried 40 feet underground! In one experiment, a dog sniffed out whale poop floating in Puget Sound from a mile away, according to Nova.