What do the initials q. e. d. stand for?

Q.E.D. Stands for the Latin phrase "quod erat demonstrandum", literally meaning "what was to be shown". Typically, the abbreviation appears at the end of a mathematical proof or philosophical argument to indicate that it is complete, used with the meaning: "thus it has been demonstrated".