What would happen if the sun didn't exist?

If the sun suddenly vanished, the planets in our solar system would spin out and drift into space. As the light from the sun takes 8 minutes to reach earth, we would not know it had vanished until 8 minutes after it had disappeared, and the planets would already be travelling out into space.