What is the pennshore monument?

The Penshaw Monument, officially The Earl of Durham's Monument, was built in 1844 on Penshaw Hill now within the City of Sunderland. It is dedicated to John George Lambton (1792–1840), 1st Earl of Durham and the first Governor of the Province of Canada, affectionately known as Radical Jack.