What happens when we dream?

The whole brain is active during dreams, from the brain stem to the cortex. Most dreams occur during REM sleep. The limbic system in the mid-brain deals with emotions in both waking & dreaming & includes the amygdala, which is mostly associated with fear and is especially active during dreams.