Why do baby carrots turn white?

When a whiteish outer surface appears on carrots this is called blushing and indicates that the surface is dehydrated due to the removal of the skin. To revive the orange color of carrots that have blushed, soak the carrots for a few minutes in ice water to rehydrate them.