What is an over jet?

An overjet describes a condition in which the upper front teeth protrude outward. Sometimes called buck teeth, this refers to the horizontal relationship of the upper and lower incisors. In a typical smile, the upper teeth extend over the lower teeth by about one to three millimeters.