Why isn't tom bergeron hosting dancing with the stars?

ABC said in a statement: "Tom Bergeron will forever be part of the 'Dancing with the Stars' family. As we embark on a new creative direction, he departs the show with our sincerest thanks and gratitude for his trademark wit and charm that helped make this show a success."