What is elephant ism?

Elephantiasis is the enlargement & hardening of limbs, body parts due to tissue swelling. Most often due to obstruction of lymphatic vessels. The term is may be used in reference to symptoms of parasitic worm infections, or variety of diseases where body parts swell to massive proportions.