What is modern major general from?

"I Am the Very Model of a Modern Major-General" is a song from Gilbert and Sullivan's 1879 comic opera "The Pirates of Penzance." It is sung by the character Major General Stanley at his first entrance and satirises the idea of the "modern" educated British Army officer of the late 19th century.